Complete Story


Update from DC: A Monumental Council Meeting for Ohio ACEP

Ohio ACEP is excited and proud to announce a historic weekend for the Chapter at the 2017 ACEP Council meeting in Washington, DC. Three of Ohio ACEP’s finest were honored by their colleagues. Gary Katz, MD, MBA, FACEP, was elected Council Vice-Speaker. Brian Keaton, MD, FACEP, was presented with ACEP’s highest honor, the John G. Wiegenstein Leadership Award. And Ohio ACEP Executive Director, Laura Tiberi, MA, CAE, was presented with an Honorary ACEP Membership Award.

Dr. Gary KatzACEP Council—the College’s deliberative body made up of representatives from every state ACEP chapter, EMRA, and other membership sections—elected Ohio ACEP member Dr. Gary Katz as its Council Vice-Speaker. Dr. Katz has long been indispensable to the leadership of Ohio ACEP. His involvement with the Chapter includes several terms as a Board Member, Chair of the Leadership Development Academy, and two terms as Chapter President. Even before his election as Vice-Speaker, Dr. Katz served on ACEP Council with distinction for years and is a previous recipient of the Council Horizon Award. Perhaps most importantly, though, Dr. Katz has selflessly dedicated countless hours to legislative advocacy and mentoring fellow physicians.

Dr. Brian KeatonOhio ACEP member, national EM leader, and ACEP Past President Dr. Brian Keaton was presented with the John G. Wiegenstein Leadership Award, the highest honor ACEP bestows. The Wiegenstein Award is presented to a current or past National ACEP leader—a member of the Board of Directors or officer of the Council—for outstanding contributions to the College. The award is named after John G. Wiegenstein, MD, a founding member of ACEP and its first President.

Receiving an award named after a consummate EM leader and pioneer is only fitting for Dr. Keaton. He is a nationally recognized expert in emergency medicine, medical informatics, organized medicine, and health policy. He has served ACEP in a number of roles, including terms as a member of the Board of Directors and College President. Here in Ohio, his leadership was essential during a time of growth and transition for the Chapter. He has served as an Ohio ACEP Board Member, Chapter President, and as a Councilor representing Ohio.

Executive Director Laura TiberiFinally, in recognition of her outstanding service to Ohio ACEP and the National College, our Chapter Executive Director, Laura Tiberi, was named an Honorary Member of ACEP. Laura’s 15 year tenure as Ohio ACEP Executive Director has been pivotal to the Chapter: under her leadership, the Chapter has seen enormous growth, increased political and legislative clout, and an expansion of educational offerings, which have served to bolster Ohio ACEP’s already-sterling reputation for EM education.

On behalf of the Board of Directors and staff of Ohio ACEP, it’s my honor to congratulate Gary Katz, Brian Keaton, and Laura Tiberi. Their efforts on behalf of emergency medicine have made immeasurable impact on the lives of EM physicians and the practice of EM, and we are proud to call them friends.



Purva Grover, MD, FACEP
President, Ohio ACEP

Printer-Friendly Version