Complete Story


Bill Hall Award, EM Physician of the Year Award Winners

On Tuesday, June 5, at the All Ohio Emergency Medicine Assembly, Ohio ACEP presented the 2012 Bill Hall Award for Service and the 2012 Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award to two outstanding doctors. Given each year, the awards are designed to recognize remarkable contributions to the specialty of emergency medicine in Ohio. The recipient of the 2012 Bill Hall Award is David Keseg, MD, FACEP, and the recipient of the 2012 Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award is Douglas Rund, MD, FACEP.

The Bill Hall Award for Service to Ohio Chapter ACEP, the highest honor awarded by the Chapter, is presented annually to a past or present member of the Ohio ACEP Board of Directors to recognize his or her contributions of time and enthusiasm for advancing emergency medicine and patient care.

Dr. David Keseg, the recipient of this year’s Bill Hall Award for Service, has given enthusiastically and generously to emergency medicine and pre-hospital care. He has been an ACEP member for more than 30 years and has served as a Chapter Board member, a Councillor and in all officer positions, including Chapter President. During his career, he has been active in important advocacy and policy initiatives. Among the many honors he has received are the CFD Fire Chiefs Award for Excellence in Service, the John E. Campbell BTLS Medical Director award for outstanding pre-hospital trauma leadership and, most recently, the prestigious Michael Keys Copass Award from the EAGLES EMS Medical Directors Consortium in 2012. He is also the founder and Director of the Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center’s EMS Fellowship program and is currently in his 25th year of serving as Medical Director of the Columbus Division of Fire.

The purpose of the Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award is to recognize physicians that espouse and encourage members to pursue the ideals of emergency medicine and to convey those values to the news media and the general public. Recipients of the award have demonstrated excellence in clinical practice, served as role models for other physicians and have actively contributed to their communities through service and education.

Dr. Douglas Rund, the recipient of the 2012 Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award, has served as a role model for hundreds of residents and medical students and as a mentor to many other emergency physicians throughout his career. His leadership roles have included service on the Research Committee of ACEP; as President of the American Board of Emergency Medicine; and as Chairman of the International Committee of the Society of Academic Emergency Medicine. In addition to his mentorship of physicians, he has been a role model to many pre-hospital personnel as Medical Director for the EMS training programs at Columbus State Community College, Worthington Fire and—formerly—at Columbus EMS. Dr. Rund is the author of multiple textbooks and multimedia presentations, and he has lectured all over the world on clinical topics in emergency medicine.

Congratulations to Dr. Douglas Rund and Dr. David Keseg for their well-deserved accolades!

Printer-Friendly Version