Complete Story


The 2018 Ohio Emergency Medicine Residents’ Assembly—Our Biggest and Best Yet!

On August 9, 2018, more than 250 residents, medical students, residency program directors, and leaders from National ACEP gathered for the Ohio Emergency Medicine Residents’ Assembly & Career Fair in Columbus.

Twenty EM residencies and medical schools were in attendance for Ohio ACEP’s signature event supporting EM residents. Residents got the chance to explore career options with more than 30 recruiters and employers, compete in the Ohio ACEP Poster Competition, and vote for resident leadership to represent their interests on the Ohio ACEP Board and ACEP Council.

Didn't make it to the 2018 Assembly? Here's what you missed!

Dr. Theron Andrus (CWRU - MetroHealth - Cleveland Clinic) presents his case study poster at the Ohio ACEP Poster Competition

Cleveland Clinic - Akron General residents try out the Residents' Assembly selfie screen!

Assembly attendees got the chance to meet with more than 30 employers and hospital groups to help them explore their first big career decision 

Mercy St. Vincent resident, Dr. Breanne Jaqua, chats with Ohio ACEP President, Dr. John Queen

Dr. Brooke Pabst (OSU Wexner Medical Center) was elected Resident Rep to the Ohio ACEP Board by her fellow residents

Ohio State residents were out in force for the 2018 Residents' Assembly!

2018 Ohio ACEP Poster Competition

The 2018 Poster Competition was our biggest ever, with 34 entries—Congratulations to all the winners!

Resident—Research Category

First Place

Matthew Gangidine MD

Matthew Gangidine, MD
Wright State University
Trends in Civilian Trauma, 2004 - 2016: Implications for the Emergency Physician

Second Place

Brian Tessaro DO

Brian Tessaro, DO
Memorial Health System
The Effect of First Dose of Antibiotics on Patient Satisfaction

Third Place

Siddarth Goyal DO

Siddarth Goyal, DO
Grandview Medical Center/Kettering Health
The Safety of Ketamine When Used for Agitation in the ED Psychiatric Patient

Resident—Case Study Category

First Place

Jennifer DeMarco MD

Jennifer DeMarco, MD
Cleveland Clinic - Akron General
Syncope and Bedside Diagnosis of Aortic Dissection

Second Place

Luke Apisa, MD

Luke Apisa, MD
University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center
Early Confirmation of Toxic Ingestion and Aspiration Pneumonitis via Bedside Ultrasound

Third Place

Ryan Stegenga MD

Ryan Stegenga, MD
Case Western Reserve at MetroHealth and Cleveland Clinic
Traumatic Compressive Cervical Myelopathy without Bony Injury

Medical Student—Research Category

First Place

Helena Holmgren

Helena Holmgren
Northeast Ohio Medical University
Perceived Proficiency of Procedures by Emergency Medicine Residents

Second Place

Brianna Arko

Brianna Arko
Affiliated with University Hospitals
Factors Associated with Patient Visitors in the Emergency Department

Third Place

Oswald Perkins

Oswald Perkins
Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine
Naloxone Use Among Emergency Department Patients with Opioid Overdose

Resident Elections

Congratulations to Dr. Brooke Pabst (Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center) who was elected as Resident Representative to the Ohio ACEP Board and Dr. Onyeka Otugo (Cleveland Clinic-Akron General) who was elected to serve as Resident Councillor

 Brooke Pabst MD

Brooke Pabst, MD
Resident Representative
Ohio ACEP Board

 Onyeka Otugo MD

Onyeka Otugo, MD
Ohio ACEP Resident Councillor

Adena Health System's Dr. Michael Weinstock [left] and Program Director Dr. Michael Pallaci [right] present "Bouncebacks! Critical Care Rapid Fire!" 

ACEP Past President and EM wellness rockstar, Dr. Linda Lawrence, leads an engaging session on maintaining health and wellness after residency

Risk management guru and ACEP Board Member, Dr. Kevin Klauer, challenges resident attendees with "High-Risk Cases in Emergency Medicine"

For more photos from the 2018 Ohio Emergency Medicine Residents’ Assembly, Like us on Facebook and check out the photo album—and be sure to check out #EMRO18 on Twitter!


We would like to send a big thanks to Residents’ Assembly Planning Chairs, Dr. Purva Grover (Poster Chair) and Dr. Catherine Marco (Event Chair). We appreciate all your hard work to make the Assembly possible!

Residents' Assembly Planning Committee

Catherine Marco, MD, FACEP—Chair

Ann Benson

Dan Breece, DO, FACEP

Ann Dietrich, MD, FAAP, FACEP

Purva Grover, MD, MBA, FACEP

Leigh Hylkema

Jennifer Li, MD

Thomas Lukens, MD, PhD, FACEP

Daniel Martin, MD, FACEP

Michael Messina, OMS-III

John Queen, MD, FACEP

Ryan Stegenga, MD


Residents' Assembly Poster Judges

Purva Grover, MD, FACEP—Chair

Linette Archer, MD, FACEP

Michael Ballester, MD

Dan Breece, DO, FACEP

Thomas Gifford, DO

Edward Kakish, DO

David Ledrick, MD, FACEP

Simiao Li-Sauerwine, MD

Rebecca Merrill, MD

Michael Pallaci, DO, FACEP

Jeremy Traylor, DO

Sandra Werner, MD, FACEP


Event Sponsors

Swag Providers

Additional Sponsors & Exhibitors


Printer-Friendly Version