Complete Story


Heroes Honored at EMS Star of Life Awards

Congratulations to to all the amazing departments EMS personnel who received awards!

On May 18, in Columbus, Ohio ACEP teamed up with the Ohio Division of EMS and the State Board of Emergency Medical, Fire, and Transportation Services (EMFTS) to host the 16th Annual EMS Star of Life Awards ceremony. The ceremony was established to celebrate Ohio’s outstanding first responders, reunite EMS personnel with the patients they saved, and honor Ohio's EMS heroes.

Emergency physicians know how critical our nation’s EMS professionals are, and Ohio ACEP is proud to help recognize their life-saving work. Congratulations to all the departments and EMS personnel who received honors!

EMS Stars

Akron Fire Department

Damascus Fire Department

North Olmsted Fire Department

Plymouth Fire Department

Ravenna City Fire Department

Troy Fire Department

Washington Township Fire Department


EMS Provider of the Year

Debra Willis, Paramedic, Jackson County EMS


EMS Medical Director of the Year

Robert Lowe, MD, FACEP, Ohio Health Doctor’s Hospital Systems


EMS Agency of the Year

University of Dayton Emergency Medical Services


Frank Giampetro Distinguished EMS Educator Award

Donald Zimmerman, Paramedic, Mentor Fire Department

Printer-Friendly Version