

Date: February 26, 2020

Emergency Physician Leadership Award to Be Presented at Ohio ACEP Emergency Medicine Assembly to Eric Adkins, MD, FACEP

Columbus, OH—The Ohio Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians (Ohio ACEP) is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2020 *Emergency Physician Leadership Award* is **Eric Adkins, MD, FACEP**, a respected physician and leader who is tireless in his efforts to improve patient care, particularly for vulnerable and underserved patients.

The Emergency Physician Leadership Award was established to recognize outstanding leadership in emergency medicine. Recipients of this award have served as role models to colleagues and/or chapter members, and his or her personal leadership attributes include, but are not limited to: inspiration, innovation, teamwork, and service.

Dr. Eric Adkins—Associate Professor and Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs at The Ohio State University Department of Emergency Medicine—is a remarkable physician who embodies each of these qualities.



Eric Adkins, MD, FACEP Recipient of the 2020 Emergency Physician Leadership Award

Dr. Adkins has a wide variety of leadership roles, showing the breadth and depth of his expertise. In addition, Dr. Adkins has helped to greatly expand Ohio State's emergency department capacity, including planning the emergency department as part of the new James Cancer Hospital construction and overseeing the upcoming expansion of the emergency department as part of the \$1.2 billion project to replace University Hospital.

In an effort to better address the needs of patients with high emergency department utilization, Dr. Adkins created a multidisciplinary committee to create personalized care plans for patients with chronic conditions such as mental illnesses, opioid use disorder, and sickle cell disease. These efforts have not only led to decreased emergency department utilization among this population of patients but also better health outcomes. As a result of his collaboration with hematologists to improve the care of sickle cell patients, the OSU Wexner Medical Center has been recognized as a Joint Commission Center of Excellence for sickle cell care. Dr. Adkins has also worked with colleague Dr. Laura Southerland to establish The Ohio State University as the first emergency department in the Midwest to achieve Level 1 Geriatric Emergency Department Accreditation by National ACEP.

Dr. Adkins was nominated for the Leadership Award by his Ohio State University colleagues, Drs. Jennifer Frey, Diane Gorgas, and Jeffrey Caterino. In their nomination letter, they praised Dr. Adkins as collaborative leader who values input from all viewpoints in order to create real, tangible improvements in patient care.

The Emergency Physician Leadership Award will be presented to Dr. Adkins on March 17, at the Ohio ACEP Emergency Medicine Assembly in Columbus. Congratulations to Dr. Eric Adkins on his well-deserved honor!

###

Ohio ACEP is a state medical specialty society representing emergency medicine physicians with more than 1,500 members. For more than 45 years, Ohio ACEP has served the state's emergency physicians through tireless advocacy, nationally recognized continuing medical education, and physician leadership development.

Further information: Justin Spicer, 614-582-0770, jspicer@ohacep.org.