

Date: February 26, 2020

Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award to Be Presented at the Ohio ACEP Emergency Medicine Assembly to Emily Kauffman, DO, MPH

Columbus, OH—The Ohio Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians (Ohio ACEP) is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2020 *Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award* is **Emily Kauffman, DO, MPH**, a devoted emergency physician, advocate, and educator.

The Emergency Physician of the Year Award was created to recognize clinicians of unusual merit and celebrate physicians who encourage members to pursue the ideals of emergency medicine. Recipients of this award serve as outstanding physician role models, maintain high professional standards, provide high-quality care, and demonstrate dedication to emergency medicine.

Emily Kauffman, DO, MPH 2020 Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year

Dr. Emily Kauffman, Assistant Professor and Associate Program Director of The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine Residency, truly exemplifies each of these qualities. Highly respected by both her students and attending physician colleagues, Dr. Kauffman is known as a committed mentor, educator, and advocate for improving care for opioid-addicted patients.

In addition to her tireless work mentoring students and residents, Dr. Kauffman has dedicated herself to fighting the ongoing opioid abuse epidemic. Working with colleagues, she has championed Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT) for opioid use disorder in the emergency department, an approach which is still uncommon for emergency departments but has shown immense promise for helping opioid-addicted patients into recovery. Dr. Kauffman took the initiative to get the training and DEA approval to initiate MAT and has worked to create additional avenues for colleagues to do the same. Working outside the clinical setting, Dr. Kauffman conducts community trainings on how to use the life-saving overdose reversal drug, naloxone, and led a \$1 million project to bring medical and mental health services needed by opioid-addicted patients to the emergency department.

Dr. Kauffman was nominated as Emergency Physician of the Year by her colleagues, Drs. Jennifer Frey, Marlisa Mann, and Jeffrey Caterino (Emergency Medicine Department Chair). In their letter, they praise Dr. Kauffman's life-saving work and describe her as the perfect embodiment of the ideal of humanism in medicine and the type of faculty member and teammate that "anyone can go to because of her constant collegiality, humility, and drive to accomplish tremendous things personally and professionally."

The Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award will be presented to Dr. Kauffman on March 17, 2020, at the Ohio ACEP Emergency Medicine Assembly in Columbus. Ohio ACEP congratulates Dr. Kauffman for her wellearned honor!

###

Ohio ACEP is a state medical specialty society representing emergency medicine physicians with more than 1,500 members. For more than 45 years, Ohio ACEP has served the state's emergency physicians through tireless advocacy, nationally recognized continuing medical education, and physician leadership development.

Further information: Justin Spicer, 614-582-0770, jspicer@ohacep.org.