Complete Story


EMS Star of Life Awards held during National EMS Week

The Ohio Department of Public Safety’s Division of Emergency Medical Services (EMS), the State Board of Emergency Medical, Fire, and Transportation Services (EMFTS) and the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians (Ohio ACEP) joined forces on May 18th and hosted the 16th Annual EMS Star of Life Awards ceremony in observance of National Emergency Medical Services Week (May 15-21).

Each day in Ohio, EMS providers save lives and perform countless acts of caring, kindness and service to their community. These awards are a tribute to those individuals and organizations whose overall contributions go beyond their basic duties and responsibilities and represent the finest traditions of their profession.

The theme "EMS STRONG: Called to Care…" exemplifies the commitment and dedication of the 750,000 EMS providers nationwide, and the more than 34,000 in Ohio, who provide an essential community service every day.

For a recap of ceremony coverage, visit

2016 EMS Star of Life Awards recipients are:
EMS Stars:
Akron Fire Department
Damascus Fire Department
North Olmsted Fire Department
Plymouth Fire Department
Ravenna City Fire Department
Troy Fire Department
Washington Township Fire Department

EMS Provider of the Year:
Debra Willis, Paramedic, Jackson County EMS

EMS Medical Director of the Year:
Robert Lowe, MD, FACEP, Ohio Health Doctor’s Hospital Systems

EMS Agency of the Year:
University of Dayton Emergency Medical Services

Frank Giampetro Distinguished EMS Educator Award:
Donald Zimmerman, Paramedic, Mentor Fire Department

Printer-Friendly Version